Frank is no figment of your imagination.

Nobody likes to read about their own demise.
So I’m here to say: I haven’t – I’m alive and well. I’ll just be keeping my
customary low profile for a little while longer.
Maybe I thought my disappearance so long ago wouldn’t be noticed, or that not
much would change in our world. So to all you guys who stayed loyal, right
from those old floppy disk days, sorry for not being there when everything
changed. And changed. And changed.
Because I know what your needs are. You want software that will help you
improve the world, not improve some stockholder’s dividend check.
You want support that’s focused on you, not some guy in a corporate jet.
So this is what I want to say. The good things haven’t come to an end. Tell me
what you want, and what you don’t, because Frank Borland is back to get it
done.
About Mike Coulter

I can see the future & I can prove it: Registered the .com domain DigitalAgency: 1997, Accepted for D&AD: 1984, 1st Tweet: 2006. Joined @BlondeDigital 2013.
This entry was posted in Insights. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Frank is no figment of your imagination.

  1. Steve says:

    Not only did I love Turbo Pascal and Sidekick, I was fascinated by your word processor. It taught me what excellent code is supposed to look like.

  2. Roger says:

    Frank? Oh I remember him.
    I was never able to get on with his Pascal, but I used to love his Turbo C++. I used to do object based development on DOS. I wrote my own interface library…it was all so quick and simple.

    Unlike academics, Frank was never scared to break the rules. Oh he realised the importance of them, but he also understood that some of the time professional developers had to step round hurdles that did not yet have an elegant solution.

    Now I also remember Franks C++ library for windows (OWL, iirc). Ha, that WAS a disaster, a least for me. All this foundationclasslibrarybuilderforge stuff. It was way to complicated, (as was it’s competitor MFC).

    Then C++ builder came along. That worked. It allowed me to use C++ for my processing algorithms without having to take a degree in UI libraries to stick the front end on! I still did not get on with Pascal, but I could see that the VCL library had a lot of potential. C++ builder was one of the most productive tools I have ever used.

    Then there was Kylix and Frank was rumoured to be working on a cross platform VCL library so we could easily make our apps portable without JAVA (which I like even less than Pascal). That seemed a great idea…but it never materialised.

    Frank seemed to of wandered off into the wilderness. Managers rolled in and before long it wasn’t clear what they selling. All sorts of products with fancy names like ‘middleware object brokering’. Under the hood at Borland there was this guy who kept the ‘old products’ ticking over (what WAS his name?), but the architectures were not evolving (heck, they even had a museum?).

    But Frank was gone, it was quite clear. And no number of MBA’s with corporate policy can replace a Frank.

    Oh yes, there is a place for Frank in the modern develpment world. Someone who understands that simplification and streamlining is more important than gloss and feature checkboxes.

    And there are a lot things I would love to tell Frank. But is he really listening?

  3. Definitely listening, Roger, in fact I’m spending a lot of my time catching up on what’s out there. So I want to know exactly what you and other developers think?

    The challenge is to make things happen. There’s certainly a new place for C++ and all the .variants – the mobile world is part based on it, and the M2M guys are catching on fast. Why not for the next gen of mobile/cloud c/s apps? It’s gonna take some effort to get a product created and into your hands, but that’s got to be worth it. I just know there’s a whole new group of would-be Borland supporters waiting out there who deserve the best.
     
    So yes, in my own quiet way I’m starting to reach out to the new Borland team – there’s some good stuff in the works across the life-cycle but what I’ve discussed above would complete the picture and make my day. I’ll be pushing hard… watch this space.

Leave a Reply

