Comebacks and their importance:

I’m not about to fill the boots of Muhammad Ali or Steve Jobs, but in my own small way I’ve come back to help make a difference at Borland. Yes, it’s now official as you can see from my real profile photos – I’ve made the decision to shake off my reclusive past and starting working again for all you developers out there.

My coming back won’t mean much unless I can help create game-changing software in the test environment and enterprise space, and that’s exactly what I plan to do. With the help of my new colleagues at Borland I’ve even laid out a vision for software development that covers some important ground including the need to:

• Keep it open

• Don’t make it big, make it better

• Focus on the user experience

• Meet every platform need

• Make it affordable

• Listen to the community

You can see me on my the journey back to Borland below. And read about my vision for software development in more detail here. It would be great to have your views on that because, after all, I’ve come back to stand up for what you – the developer – really needs.

This entry was posted in Cool, Meet Frank Borland, meetfrankborland.com, Video. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Comebacks and their importance:

  1. Tim LeForge says:

    Sigh… I remember, fondly, the days of Turbo Pascal. Things were much simpler back then. Now we have massive paradigm shifts every 2 years (sometimes more frequently, depending on the role outs of various technologies).

    It would be nice to get back to simple, tried, stayed and true. Just need an environment that helps you write windows, mobile and web apps…. that’s all. :0).

  2. Cephas Q. Atheos says:

    I still have my original working copy (and manual!) of Turbo Pascal 3.01 running on CP/M 2.2. Just because I can. It’s fun to go back in that time machine, and see how that basic idea was improved and extended (before the bloat).

    But it’s still interesting to look at that original product, and see just how radical it was back then. (That’s radical, not RADical). When I’m designing software now, using Delphi 6 (the last version I could afford as a small developer) or Lazarus, I look at TP3 and how it worked and how it enabled me to do what I needed to do.

    I can apply the same lessons I saw applied there, to whatever I’m developing now, nearly 30 years later. And it stands me in good stead : I write code that gets the job done, that meets or exceeds the customer’s expectation, that I can extend or repair in a years’ time, and that I’m proud to have written. And I have a ball doing it. (I guess that’s a luxury most developers can’t afford, but it’s what gets me up in the mornings (and keeps me up at nights!)).

    I’m onboard. Let’s see what Frank can do to help me help my customers, AND have at least as much fun doing it as I do now. After all, if it isn’t fun, it must be a job!

    Plus, I liked “The Good, the Bad, & the Ugly”…

    – Pete

  3. Marc says:

    Let’s wait and see.
    There has been so many marketings stunts since Delphi7….
    User since Delphi 1, I switched to FPC after buying XE, bored.
    “• Keep it open” : will you finally use FPC as a compiler and concentrate on the VCL ?

Leave a Reply

